October 29, 2018
Focus on outstanding women in business

This year's judges


Melanie Bonsu is the development manager for the Girl Scouts of Central and Western Massachusetts. Bonsu joined the Girl Scouts in 2012 and oversees all aspects of fund development including annual giving, corporate and foundation relations, events and the alumnae association.

Bonu has increased corporate, foundation and individual support of mission since joining Girl Scouts in 2012; increased attendance and money raised for two fundraising events, and was chosen to help plan the donor experience for the Girl Scouts' 53rd national convention.

She was a member of Worcester Business Journal's 40 Under Forty Class of 2015.


Bert LaValley is the president and co-founder of Sustainable Comfort and one of three co-owners of Worcester restaurants deadhorse hill and simjang.

At Sustainable Comfort, he and his team rehab 100-year-old triple-deckers around Worcester to make them viable for working-class people. Since its founding, the company has grown an average of 65 percent annually and now employs more than 30. For the restaurants, LaValley partnered with chef Jared Forman and drinks connoisseur Sean Woods to launch deadhorse hill in 2016 and simjang in 2018.

LaValley is a 2018 WBJ 40 Under Forty honoree.


As Fallon Health's senior vice president and chief human resources officer, Jill Lebow is responsible for the functional areas of talent acquisition, talent management and total rewards. She ensures Fallon's human resources systems, functions and services are aligned to attract, engage and develop the talent necessary for Fallon to meet its growing and evolving needs.

Lebow joined Fallon in 2008 as a human resources business Partner.

In 2017, Lebow was honored as one of the WBJ's Outstanding Women in Business. She resides in Worcester with her family.

Read more about the 2018 Outstanding Women in Business:

Kate Sharry, president of Group Benefits Strategies

Carla McCall, CPA, CGMA, co-managing partner of AAFCPAs

Laurie Masiello, president of Masy Bioservices

Jennifer Luisa, vice president of marketing and communications at The Hanover Insurance Group

Marianne Lancaster, president of Lancaster Packaging Inc.

Sandra Brock, PE, vice president and chief engineer at Nitsch Engineering

Read about this year's judges

Read about the nine previous years of Outstanding Women in Business award winners:

2017 alumnae

2016 alumnae

2015 alumnae

2014 alumnae

2013 alumnae

2012 alumnae

2011 alumnae

2010 alumnae

2009 alumnae

Check out a column from this year's Innovative Business Leader of the Year on the importance of women business leaders in the Central Mass. community

Successful women shape our community


Type your comment here:

Latest Headlines
Today's Poll What is the best way to use the vacant business space inside Union Station? <>
Most Popular on Facebook
Most Popular on Twitter
Copyright 2017 New England Business Media